Edmund Cheng steps down as NAC Chairman

Edmund Cheng steps down as NAC Chairman
Edmund Cheng. Photo: NAC
Cheng, who served on Board for 11 years, will be succeeded by Ambassador-at-Large Chan Heng Chee
Published: 11:52 AM, August 30, 2013
Updated: 12:00 PM, August 31, 2013

SINGAPORE — After eight years at the helm of the National Arts Council (NAC), Mr Edmund Cheng Wai Wing is stepping down, the NAC and Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY) said this morning (Aug 30).

He will be succeeded by Ambassador-at-Large Chan Heng Chee, who was Singapore’s envoy to the United States from 1996 to 2012.

The NAC and MCCY made the announcement today as the Council unveiled its 12th Board. Eight other board members are also stepping down. They include Mr Benson Puah, who stepped down as NAC CEO last month and Mr Yam Ah Mee, the former Chief Executive Director of the People’s Association and Returning Officer for the 2011 General Election.

The new 16-member board — which will include the new NAC CEO, when appointed — will serve a two-year term beginning Sept 1.

Mr Cheng, Deputy Chairman of Wing Tai Holdings, served as Deputy Chairman of the NAC Board for three years and then eight as Chairman.

During his term, Mr Cheng oversaw the Council’s launch of several new initiatives under the National Plans for Traditional Arts, Literary Arts, as well as the Arts and Culture Strategic Review. This includes initiatives in the areas of Community Engagement, Capability Development and Arts Education.

Mr Cheng’s term as Chairman also saw more support for Singaporean artists and arts companies.

“On behalf of the MCCY, I would like to extend our deep gratitude to Mr Edmund Cheng for his stewardship of the NAC these past 11 years,” said MCCY Permanent Secretary Yeoh Chee Yan in a statement this morning.

“He has been a tireless champion for the arts in Singapore and under his watch, the arts scene has flourished. I would also like to thank all outgoing Council members for their dedicated service and invaluable contributions to the work of the NAC.”

• Chairperson: Prof Chan Heng Chee
• Mr Edward Chia
• Ms Claire Chiang
• Ms Chong Siak Ching
• Mr Goh Yew Lin
• Mr Guy Harvey-Samuel
• Ms Koh Lin-Net
• Mr Vinod Kumar
• Assoc Prof Kwok Kian Woon
• Ms Lian Pek
• Ms Tan Li San
• Mr Alvin Tan
• Mr Wong Siew Hoong
• Mr Yeoh Oon Jin
• Mr Suhaimi Bin Zainul Abidin
• CEO, National Arts Council (upon appointment)

• Chairman: Mr Edmund Cheng Wai Wing
• Ms Aw Kah Peng
• Mr Richard Chia
• Mr Vinod Kumar
• Mr Ng Cher Pong
• Mr Benson Puah Tuan Soon
• Ms Priscylla Shaw
• Mr Suhaimi Bin Zainul-Abidin
• Ms Tan Li San
• Ms Audrey Wong Wai Yen
• Ms Woo Mun Ngan
• Mr Yam Ah Mee
• Mr Yeoh Oon Jin