UniSIM renamed S’pore University of Social Sciences

UniSIM renamed S’pore University of Social Sciences
TODAY file photo
Published: 12:34 PM, March 17, 2017
Updated: 11:29 PM, March 17, 2017

SINGAPORE — SIM University (UniSIM), which is in the midst of a restructuring to become the sixth autonomous university here, has been renamed the Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS), the Ministry of Education (MOE) announced on Friday (March 17).

The name change, said Minister for Higher Education and Skills Ong Ye Kung, will help to “reflect (SUSS’) mission of driving lifelong learning anchored in disciplines with a strong social focus”.

He added: “What will be most unique about the university is its tradition of applied education, and outreach to adult learners, all of which will be kept and strengthened.” The MOE said SUSS will continue to offer the range of programmes that UniSIM had previously. Besides programmes on social work, early childhood education and human resource management, the university this year welcomed its first intake of law students.

The MOE added that SUSS will also continue to retain a limited offering in other areas such as business and engineering, especially for adult learners.

“SUSS will continue to cater to a wide range of learners — students, employees looking to upgrade their skills and passionate learners keen on gaining new knowledge, while providing flexibility for their learning,” said SUSS’ president Professor Cheong Hee Kiat, adding that it will continue collaborating closely with industry, employers and the community in designing its programmes.

The name change did not sit well with some students. Third-year accountancy student Neoh Yi Xin, 22: “I think that the name change is not entirely reflective of the university because it also has other courses apart from the social sciences. We have students taking accountancy, finance and business degrees, which the name doesn’t really capture.”

Autonomous universities receive government funding and are subject to government oversight, but have the flexibility to set their own direction and differentiate their educational offerings.

Currently, the National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, Singapore University of Technology and Design and Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) are autonomous institutions.