Additional MRT station between Yishun and Sembawang: Minister Lui

Additional MRT station between Yishun and Sembawang: Minister Lui
TODAY file photo.
Feasibility study on Canberra station on the North-South Line has been completed, he says at Thomson Line groundbreaking
Published: 10:59 AM, June 27, 2014

SINGAPORE — An additional station will be built between Yishun and Sembawang on the North-South Line, and it will be known as Canberra station, said Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew today (June 27). He said the feasibility study has been completed, and the Land Transport Authority will provide more details when ready.

Mr Lui was speaking at the Thomson Line’s groundbreaking ceremony at Woodlands, which will mark the start of its construction. It is the next major step, he said, adding that Singaporeans will continue to see new lines and extensions opening over the next three years.

When fully completed in 2021, the 30km-long Thomson Line, which boasts 22 stations will contribute to Singapore’s rail network in many important ways, said Mr Lui.

He said it will link several housing estates in the north and central areas and connect them to the city as well as the rest of the MRT network, allowing commuters living and working along the line greater accessibility, more travel options and shorter, more direct journeys to their destinations.

It will also add an additional 60 per cent capacity along the North-South corridor, increase the number of interchanges and eventually be linked to Johor Bahru, he added.

When the line fully opens, it is projected to see a daily ridership of around 400,000 commuters.